Houtstraat, Wellen

posted in: Limburg, Stadiums | 0

The history of KVK Wellen began in 1961 when the merger of Eendracht Wellen and Sparta Wellen to Wellense SK took place. In 1971 the new team reached the Limburg First Provincial Division and remained there for over a decade.

In 1985, the yellow-Blues became champion and they went up to the Fourth National Division where they would play until 1998. The Bosman ruling and financial problems would eventually become to much for the team and at the end of the 97-98 season Wellense SK merged with VV Wellen from the First Provincial Division. This team was founded in 1970 and had moved up through the Provincial Divisions but had reached the limitations of the club. The newly merged club was christened KVK Wellen and would use the site and the Matricule of Wellense SK. The red of VV Wellen was added to the yellow and blue of Wellense SK.

KVK Wellen was promoted to the Fourth National Division again in 2002 but relegated after just one season. In 2014 they became champions once again and currently they play in the 3rd National Amateur Division.